Friday, 10 June 2022, Kaufleuten Zurich

Discover a key export industry for Switzerland

Swiss Private Banking: agility and strong values required

On the sixth Private Banking Day, held by the ASPB and the VAV today, the focus was on the future of the wealth management industry in Switzerland. Renowned players from the worlds of private banking, politics and the authorities discussed how the country can maintain its leading position, which framework conditions are required and which quality criteria the Swiss private banking industry should stand for.

Switzerland has been the world’s leading financial centre for wealth management for decades. In the past, our financial centre has successfully overcome a variety of major challenges – and further important ones lie ahead. Alongside the intensifying competition between the international financial centres, digitalisation, sustainability and the corresponding changes in client behaviour also have a crucial role to play when it comes to ensuring that the industry is fit for the future.

In his welcome speech, Philipp Rickenbacher, Chairman of the VAV and CEO of the Julius Baer Group, underlined the importance of a combination of rapid adaptability and strong Swiss values for the players in the sector – in view of the uncertainties and upheavals the world is currently facing. The sector must not rest on its laurels, he said, adding that the industry had already proved that it could change with the fundamental regulatory transformation and the transparent processing of the past that it had undergone. Switzerland should now point to these developments with more confidence, he said, and defend itself more decisively against unobjective attacks on the financial centre. With regard to Switzerland’s neutrality, Rickenbacher observed that it was becoming an increasingly difficult balancing act in a world of conflicting blocs. It was nevertheless important, he stressed, that the country continues to pursue an independent sanctions policy that respects the principles of international law.

Finally, Rickenbacher called for the banking sector, which still does not have access to the EU market, to be included as a further element in the negotiation package with the EU. He closed his speech with an appeal to adopt an offensive approach to challenging topics such as sustainable finance, digitalisation and digital assets, in the interests of clients. Only in this way would the sector remain relevant in the future. Taking up the topic of the day, President of the Swiss Federation Ignazio Cassis stressed in his video message that Switzerland had come through the coronavirus crisis well, not least because sectors like the wealth management industry had successfully risen to the challenge of remaining ‘best in class’. In connection with the war in Ukraine, he emphasised that the policy of neutrality did not mean indifference and that it had to be a cooperative neutrality which adapted to current realities. The President also referred to the Ukraine conference in Switzerland, which is to be the kick-off for rebuilding Ukraine, and to the important role that the financial industry must play in this process.

The futurologist and researcher Magnus Lindkvist then presented an external perspective, speaking about how future societal and economic trends will entail fundamental changes. These will inevitably have a major influence on how companies in general – and banks in particular – will shape their activities and their client interactions in the future.

In a first-rate panel discussion, Marc Bürki, CEO of Swissquote, Bertrand Demole, Vice-Chairman of ASPB and Managing Partner at the Pictet Group, Jos Dijsselhof, CEO of the SIX Group, and Giorgio Pradelli, Board member of the VAV and CEO of EFG International, spoke about the challenges and the future of Swiss private banking. It became clear that, as a small and open economy, Switzerland and consequently also the wealth management industry are reliant on access to large markets. Topics such as digitalisation, cyber security, Fintech and sustainability are becoming increasingly important for private banking and can become competitive advantages. At the same time, competitive framework conditions are crucial for Switzerland as a financial centre, especially in the area of taxes.

In his closing remarks, Grégoire Bordier, Chairman of ASPB and Managing Partner with unlimited personal liability at Bordier & Cie, took up the issues raised by the previous speakers, recalling that the foundation of the Swiss financial centre had not been bank secrecy in the past either, but its solidity, quality and the Swiss population, that, all combined, guaranteed stability. For Bordier, the future will be shaped above all by technological advances and in particular the dematerialisation of assets. This will inevitably have an impact on the business models, especially in the credit business and to a lesser extent in wealth management. In addition to geopolitical changes, the Swiss financial centre is likely to be shaped above all by new technologies, Bordier said. And thanks to its openness and international focus, it is ideally equipped to tackle these challenges.

Speakers

Ignazio Cassis

President of the Swiss Confederation
Head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

Magnus Lindkvist

Futurologist

Carolin Roth

Business Journalist

Marc Bürki

CEO Swissquote

Bertrand Demole

Partner Pictet Group
Vice-Chairman ABPS-VSPB

Jos Dijsselhof

CEO SIX

Giorgio Pradelli

CEO EFG International
Board member VAV-ABG

Philipp Rickenbacher

Chairman VAV-ABG
CEO Julius Baer

Grégoire Bordier

Chairman ABPS-VSPB
Managing Partner with unlimited personal liability Bordier & Cie

Impressions

Video

Download

Organisers

Past events

Vendredi, 10 juin 2022, Kaufleuten Zurich

Discover a key export industry for Switzerland

Swiss Private Banking : l’agilité et une solide boussole des valeurs à l’ordre du jour

Le sixième Private Banking Day organisé aujourd’hui par l’ABPS et l’ABG a mis l’accent sur l’avenir de la branche de la gestion de fortune en Suisse. De hauts responsables du secteur du private banking, du monde politique et de l’administration ont débattu des moyens et conditions cadre nécessaires pour permettre à la branche de conserver sa place de numéro un, ainsi que des critères de qualité que devrait porter le private banking suisse.

Depuis des décennies, la Suisse est, aux quatre coins du monde, le centre financier de référence pour la gestion de fortune. Par le passé, notre place financière a relevé avec succès différents défis de taille, et d’autres non moins cruciaux l’attendent. Outre la concurrence croissante entre les places financières internationales, la numérisation, la durabilité et l’évolution du comportement des clients qui en résulte jouent un rôle déterminant pour la pérennité de la branche.

Dans son allocution de bienvenue, Philipp Rickenbacher, président de l’ABG et CEO du Groupe Julius Baer, a souligné la nécessité pour les acteurs de combiner agilité et valeurs suisses fortes en cette période d’incertitudes et de bouleversements. La branche ne peut pas se permettre de se reposer sur ses lauriers. Elle a cependant déjà démontré qu’elle est capable de changer, dans le contexte d’une transformation réglementaire fondamentale ainsi que du traitement transparent du passé. La Suisse doit à présent mieux mettre en lumière cette évolution et se défendre avec détermination contre les attaques injustifiées lancées contre sa place financière. Concernant la neutralité de la Suisse, Philipp Rickenbacher a indiqué que, dans un monde de blocs en conflit, elle s’apparente de plus en plus à un exercice d’équilibriste. Il est néanmoins important selon lui que la Suisse poursuive une politique de sanctions qui lui est propre et qui respecte les principes de droit. Enfin, Philipp Rickenbacher a plaidé pour que le secteur bancaire, qui n’a toujours pas accès au marché de l’UE, soit également intégré dans le paquet de négociations avec l’UE. Il a terminé par un appel à s’attaquer de façon offensive à une série de sujets complexes tels que la finance durable, la numérisation ou les actifs numériques, dans l’intérêt des clients. C’est la seule manière de garantir la pérennité de la branche dans le futur.

En lien avec le thème du jour, le Président de la Confédération Ignazio Cassis a souligné dans son intervention vidéo que la Suisse a bien surmonté la crise du coronavirus dans l’ensemble, notamment parce que des branches comme celle de la gestion de fortune ont su relever avec succès le défi de rester « les meilleures ». En ce qui concerne la guerre en Ukraine, il a indiqué que la politique de neutralité n’est pas synonyme d’indifférence et qu’elle doit s’adapter aux réalités, dans le sens d’une neutralité coopérative. Par ailleurs, le Président de la Confédération a fait référence à la conférence sur l’Ukraine en Suisse, qui est censée donner le coup d’envoi de la reconstruction de l’Ukraine, et souligné le rôle important que le secteur financier doit jouer dans ce processus. Apportant un regard extérieur, le futurologue et auteur Magnus Lindkvist a décrit les changements fondamentaux qu’entraîneront les tendances sociétales et économiques futures. Ces changements auront forcément une grande influence sur la manière dont les entreprises en général et les banques en particulier concevront à l’avenir leurs activités et leur interaction avec la clientèle.

Dans un panel de haut niveau, Marc Bürki, CEO de Swissquote, Bertrand Demole, vice-président de l’ABPS et associé du Groupe Pictet, Jos Dijsselhof, CEO du Groupe SIX, et Giorgio Pradelli, membre du Comité de l’ABG et CEO d’EFG International, ont débattu des enjeux et du futur du private banking suisse. Il est apparu clairement qu’en tant que petite économie ouverte, la Suisse – tout comme la branche de la gestion de fortune – doit pouvoir accéder aux grands marchés de vente. Des thèmes tels que la numérisation, la cybersécurité, la fintech et la durabilité revêtent une importance croissante pour le private banking et peuvent devenir des avantages concurrentiels. Parallèlement à cela, la place financière suisse doit pouvoir offrir des conditions cadres compétitives, en particulier dans le domaine fiscal.

Dans sa conclusion, Grégoire Bordier, président de l’ABPS et associé à responsabilité illimitée de Bordier & Cie, faisant écho aux déclarations du premier orateur, a rappelé que, dans le passé déjà, le fondement de la place financière suisse n’était pas le secret bancaire, mais sa solidité et sa qualité, ainsi que la population suisse, qui ensemble garantissent sa stabilité. Pour Grégoire Bordier, l’avenir sera principalement marqué par le progrès technologique et plus particulièrement par la dématérialisation des actifs. Cela aura immanquablement un impact sur les modèles d’affaires, davantage dans le domaine du crédit que dans celui de la gestion de fortune. Outre les changements géopolitiques, Grégoire Bordier estime que les technologies nouvelles joueront un rôle prépondérant pour la place financière suisse, qui, grâce à son ouverture et à son orientation internationale, est parfaitement armée pour relever ces défis.

Orateurs

Ignazio Cassis

Président de la Confédération
Chef du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères DFAE

Magnus Lindkvist

Futurologue

Carolin Roth

journaliste économique

Marc Bürki

CEO Swissquote

Bertrand Demole

Associé Groupe Pictet
Vice-Président ABPS

Jos Dijsselhof

CEO SIX

Giorgio Pradelli

CEO EFG International
Membre du comité ABG

Philipp Rickenbacher

Président ABG
CEO Julius Bär

Grégoire Bordier

Président ABPS
Associé indéfiniment responsable Bordier & Cie

Impressions

Vidéo

Télécharger

Organisateurs

Evénements précédents

INSCRIPTION